Bagwell Service Award

Named for our first Fire Chief, Mr. Bill Bagwell, which served as Chief from 1980 until 1991, the Bagwell Service Award is a program to bring recognition to those in the Biggersville and surrounding communities of Alcorn County that live a life of service through selflessness and volunteering. Those community-minded people that offer these attributes deserve recognition for their efforts to make the Biggersville community a better place.

Recipients are honored with a plaque and recognized on a perpetual plaque displayed at our South Station, the station that Chief Bagwell was instrumental in building and where he and many others have served.

  • 2013 - Terry Rider: Mr. Rider was honored in recognition of his vital work in the creation of the medical first responder program that still serves our community today. Also, for his donated use of land where our North Station is located today.
  • 2018 - Rachel Stafford: Ms. Stafford has spent decades serving the Biggersville community through volunteering at Biggersville School sporting events in the concession stands and working untold hours without recognition or compensation. She continually loves and invests into the children of our community and was a unanimous choice for the 2018 award.

(L-R) Senior Firefighter William Johnson, Assistant Chief Tim Tyson, Ms. Rachel Stafford, Chief Jonathan Rider, Deputy Chief Kerry Cummings

Award being presented during the Biggersville High School Boys Basketball First-Round North Mississippi Playoffs at BHS on Tuesday, February 20, 2019. Ms. Stafford was greeted with a standing ovation from a packed gymnasium after she had to be encouraged to stop working in the concession stand long enough to accept her award, then she promptly went right back to work serving her community.

Nominations for the 2019 Bagwell Service Award will be accepted in late 2018; you will find a link here to submit nominations when they open.